Tags

, , , , , ,

Image

 

There is no doubt that mathematicians and physicists may try to prove the above equation. After all, people tend to act in accordance with what they have been taught. In primary school, I was a player…. (No, not that kind). I was the one who would  be playing marbles and  using my last ten dollars to buy 15 minutes of a Super Mario game. Salad- A- Kick, (a football game where the aim was to get the ball through a persons legs and everyone would kick them until they reach safety or the “den”) and the occasional “Police and Thief” were my kind of games. It is not that I eschewed all feminine games, I just thought I could learn more from the ones I liked. My teachers and parents thought I could learn nothing from games, but even today, I can prove otherwise. During University, Bejeweled, Zuma Deluxe and Mahjong were my games of choice and I convinced people to let me be, as these games have been proven to improve reaction time, memory and  general brain function based on the theory of Neuroplasticity. The last game I tried, I was a bit hesitant. It was Plants versus Zombies.  I was a bit hesitant at first, because I am not a fan of zombies, vampires, werewolves etc- I gave it a chance and I am HOOKED! I learned a few things from it I want to share with you.

1. Proper Planning– I have learned that making wise investments from early helps in the long run. Proper planning is primarily organization. Making your first 2 rows your biggest investments, planting money plants is the best way to go.  Waiting on the right time to spend is also important.  Buying a cheap but effective plant in the early stages protects your brains from being eaten while allowing you to save to buy better defense for the harder days.  Buying good plants may be costly, but they usually can be upgraded and offer better protection. I’ve learned that living from hand to mouth is more costly and tend to be ineffective when things get really tough.

2. Practice-  I also realized that the more I practiced this game, I discovered more shortcuts and even more effective ways of playing, as practice allowed me to get a better understanding of the game each time. Before this game, I dreaded doing past papers or Mathematics and I realized that really practicing allows one to appreciate the topic and guess what? You may end  up liking it! So whatever your area of weakness, dedicate a little time as often as you can and you will be amazed at the results! Whoever said practice makes perfect was lying, but it sure gets you closer to being perfect at your craft and allows you to be more poised and prepared which makes the task less of a challenge.

3. Play- Playing releases endorphins, it helps us to relax and it makes us feel good. I am a big advocate for experiential learning, i.e, learning while you do activities- especially fun activities! Apart from temporarily distracting us from other stressors, play this game allowed me to see life as a process with each stage requiring different things and it is through successful completion that we get a reward- A big bag of coins!  Sometimes waiting until the end isn’t enough motivation so the game randomly rewards you with plants and chocolate to keep you going. Sometimes, we just need to let go and play for a little bit and I’m sure the feeling you’ll get is better than the sugar rush from the chocolate.

4. Power= Knowledge  In order to be ready to take on a task and do well at it, one must be prepared. Having read about the task or given advice from an experienced person allows you to feel better and more confident. In this game, buying the tree of wisdom and taking care of it gives tips which gets you a step closer to getting the gold trophy.

Think about it, ” Proper planning, practice and playing prevents poor performance plus produces power!” This alliteration may have you spewing saliva all over the place but it really has a deeper message: “Plant wisely, because you really reap what you sew.”

